Self-Defense Act (SDA)
Before applying for a handgun license, you must obtain a certificate from a handgun safety class instructor. A list of certified instructors can be found on the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation (OSBI) website.
Self Defense Act and other fingerprinting will be restricted to appointment only indefinitely. Upon entering the jail lobby for an appointment, customers will have temperature taken and other COVID-19 precautions are required. Detention staff conducting fingerprints and paperwork will wear appropriate PPE including masks and gloves. All surfaces will be sanitized after each use. Applications are accepted Tuesdays and Wednesdays 10:30 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. only at the Cleveland County Detention Center, (Cleveland County jail) 2550 West Franklin Road, Norman, OK 73069. Call Suzanne Meadows any work day (M-F) at 405-701-7743 to schedule an appointment and for more information on COVID-19 requirements.
Applications may be picked up at the Cleveland County Sheriff Office or can be printed from the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation (PDF). Please use only blue or black ink when completing the application.
The Sheriff’s Office charges $25 for finger printing, doing a background check, and processing your application. This $25 fee must be paid with a money order or cashier’s check made out to the Cleveland County Sheriff Office.
The OSBI fee is $100 for a 5-year license or $200 for a 10-year license.
While the Constitutional Carry law went into effect Nov. 1, 2019, the Cleveland County Sheriff’s Office will continue to provide fingerprinting services and to facilitate the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation background check. These services will be provided for those who still want the licensing for other reasons such as to be in compliance when traveling to other states that reciprocate with our gun licensing laws.
If you have any questions about turning in your application, please call the Cleveland County Detention Center at Phone: 405-701-7700.